My Quilting Journey… Come Walk With Me

On The Frame Today

     For the last couple of weeks I’ve had a friend’s quilt on my frame. Since I recently started accepting customer’s quilts she scared me when she said she had a “Baltimore like” quilt for me to tackle. I quilted for myself for many years and have had my HandiQuilter for over two years. However, in my mind, working on other quilter’s projects makes me a bit nervous. I don’t want to mess up something they worked so hard on. So the “like a Baltimore” didn’t give me a good feeling…………………….. but I accepted the challenge.

As you can see by the picture this isn’t anything like a Baltimore quilt except that it’s ten appliqué blocks with lots of white space around the appliqué. She is a very fun person and easy to please so I thought I would try my hand at some of the modern quilting patterns I’ve been “pinning”, watching and reading about. I really like the look and think it adds so much more than stippling. It’s a fun technique and I used different fillers in the various blocks but really like the look of what you see in the picture below. This is the first time I tried it and I’m sure I’ll get much better with practice.


This quilt has been a challenge for me and I’m actually going to turn the quilt so I can quilt the side borders as I did the top and bottom once I finish the rest of it. This is also a first. I have never tried pantographs and do all free motion quilting so if I want to quilt borders as borders and not just as part of an overall design I find that challenging. I sometimes will stand and look at what’s on the frame for awhile thinking about what to do next and then walk away and think about it some more. That’s one reason this one has been on the frame for so long.
Her next top is an apple core pattern and I’ve been thinking for weeks what to do with it. I’m sure I’ll figure it out…………..

Ronda

Comments on: "On The Frame Today" (2)

  1. Karla Pinyerd said:

    Ronda, I love your freeform quilting design. Good job! Great quilt!

  2. Yes, your quilting is great on this!! Thanks for following me, too, by the way!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Cindy's Siesta

Seeking God through the study of his Word

Insights For Leadership

Insights from a Serial Entreprenuer

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

Dena Dale Crain

Art Quilter in Africa

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

The Inbox Jaunt

From Doodle to Design

Virtual Quilter

A Daily Quilt Design, Virtually

divakamidesign

Bringing Design to Life

Machine Quilting Business

Learn about the business of being a professional machine quilter

Quilting Is My Therapy

All about machine quilting!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

