My Quilting Journey… Come Walk With Me

A long time ago I realized I could never use all the quilts I made so I searched out ways to give back to others. Of course everyone in the family has several quilts each. On average I make new quilts every 5 years. That still leaves me lots of time to quilt with lots of finished quilts……………. what do I do?

As a member of several guilds I jumped into the middle of whatever charity program they offered and I made quilts for the local Police and Fire Departments who hand out quilts to children in crisis situations. A friend announced there was a need for children at a facility where she worked and we all made and gave quilts. We even took larger donated quilts and broke them down into smaller children sized quilts. I got involved with the annual program through Hancock’s Fabrics and made several quilts for St Judes. Habitat for Humanity in Winchester TN received quilts for each family moving into their new home. While I sit here and type I realize I participated in lot of different programs over the last 15 years. A couple of years back Project Linus was having a two-day gathering at a local quilt shop I happened to visit. I now make quilts for Project Linus.  The top picture and the following three are Project Linus Quilts.  I dropped the scrappy quilt off today.

          

We volunteer for our local Lincoln County/Fayetteville Animal Shelter in TN and have since we first moved here 6 years ago. A few years back I started making quilts for them to raffle off at various fund-raising events during the year. I turned in the most recent quilt to them this past weekend.  The blocks were extras from the quilt I made earlier this year.  I decided to applique paws to it and call it “A Touch of Paws”  They will display it at the Lincoln County Fair next month and sell raffle tickets.  All proceeds go directly to the shelter to support the animals who come through their doors.

 

I’m not trying to toot my horn here but I am encouraging you to use your gift to give back to others. You gain so much by finding a need and reaching out to meet that need, one quilt at a time.

The year I bought my Handi Quilter Avante, Project Linus received loads of quilts.  I used panels, tops donated to Project Linus and easy tops I made to practice on my HQ.  It was a win win situation.  I gained quilting experience and they received a pile of new quilts to give to the kids.

There are so many opportunities to use your skills to touch the life of someone else.  I rarely see the faces of the people who receive a quilt but I bet they have a huge smile on their face when they realize the quilt is all theirs.  Won’t you help bring a smile to someone in September?

Comments on: "Giving Back Through the Gift of Quilting" (2)

  1. I like the *concept* of donating practice pieces to comfy quilts … I just really struggle with the idea of giving something to someone that’s less than best. LOL! I’m just starting to feel comfortable straight line quilting on my machine. There are several times I’ve started to machine quilt, only to stop, tear out all the stitches, and hand quilt it much faster (and prettier)!! One of my goals for this year, though, is to bust some stash and doing more comfy quilts! I’d like to do a QOV or two, also! You’ve got some gorgeous quilts pictured today!! 🙂

  2. Good morning Denise. So what do you do with any practice quilts? I guess the way I look at it I’m practicing to get better with each quilt and I always do my best with each one I work on. QOV and HOB are both great options too and I’ve dontated to both. Have a wonderful Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Cindy's Siesta

Seeking God through the study of his Word

Insights For Leadership

Insights from a Serial Entreprenuer

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

Dena Dale Crain

Art Quilter in Africa

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

The Inbox Jaunt

From Doodle to Design

Virtual Quilter

A Daily Quilt Design, Virtually

divakamidesign

Bringing Design to Life

Machine Quilting Business

Learn about the business of being a professional machine quilter

Quilting Is My Therapy

All about machine quilting!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

